The first night

I survived.

The first night post-op was like having a newborn. Moments of deep slumber were punctuated by vital checks & blood draws at 6:30, 7:30, 9:00, 11:00, 2:00, 4:00, 6:00, & 8:00 (but who’s counting?). My new best friends are a large ice pack and a sippy cup of ice water.

The pain is moderate, mostly a horrendous sore throat and the drain incision. I’ve been disconnected from all my beepers & clickers and now just have a tube eerily sticking out of my chest to drain fluid (it’s really gross, but my kids found it fascinating). Oh, and my blood work looks good, so I appear to still be on track to head home this afternoon or evening.

But, honestly, the hospital is pretty cushy! My room is like a tiny hotel room with an entire staff just outside the door. I can order unlimited room service from the menus of the various cafes, burgers, salad, salmon, last night I had baked mac-n-cheese (Mmm comfort food). The adjustable bed is pretty awesome too.

Thank you all for the thoughts, prayers, & well wishes – they’re working! It’s looking like we may pick up patient of the week!

UPDATE: Going home . . . with a strawberry milkshake!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The first night

  1. Karen Harris says:

    Wonderful news! I get to drop by a meal on Sunday, let me know if you have any specific requests! I’ll bring by a few good chick flicks too just in case you need some veg out time =)

  2. Jackie says:

    Funny, to feel so proud of a friend! So proud that I had to re-post on FB, in case there are any PC TZ folks that aren’t aware of this site (hope you don’t mind!?!). You are a force to be reckoned with, Ashley (as all those doctors must have figured out). Good on ya,’ for not taking this lying down. But when you are tired, do lie down, and know that there are many people behind you. Much love!!!

Leave a Reply

